Algoma Steel (ASTL) reported $1.5B in revenue for fiscal 2025, −27.9% year on year. That ranks #1512 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #119 in Materials. It posted a net loss of −$705M for the same year. Revenue has grown 0.2% a year on average since 2019 ($1.5B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $1.5B in total assets and $56.6M in cash.
Key figures
| Key figures | FY2025 | YoY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueC$2.1B | $1.5B | −27.9% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Gross profit | Not reported | — | |
| Operating income−C$1.3B | −$949M | −$1.1B | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Net income−C$985M | −$705M | −$783M | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Operating cash flow−C$66.1M | −$47.3M | −$266M | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Capital expenditureC$329M | $235M | −35.2% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Total assetsC$2.1B | $1.5B | −30.2% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Shareholders' equityC$491M | $359M | −65.8% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| CashC$77.5M | $56.6M | −69.5% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Long-term debt | Not reported | — |
Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.
Figures are reported under IFRS in CAD and converted to US dollars at ECB reference rates — fiscal 2025 average 1.397 CAD/$ for income items, year-end 1.369 CAD/$ for balance-sheet items.
Where this sits in its sector
Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.
| Where this sits in its sector | FY2025 | Position in sector |
|---|---|---|
| Net marginRank 133 of 134 companies compared | −47.2% | |
| Operating marginRank 131 of 131 companies compared | −63.6% | |
| Cash as share of revenueRank 102 of 132 companies compared | 3.8% |
All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.
Profile
- Legal name
- Algoma Steel Group Inc.
- Ticker
- ASTL
- Exchange
- Nasdaq
- SIC classification
- Steel Works, Blast Furnaces & Rolling Mills (Coke Ovens) (3312)
- Fiscal year end
- 03-31
- CIK
- 0001860805
Filings
- 40-FMar 12, 2026Open filing →
- 40-FMar 13, 2025Open filing →
- 40-FJun 21, 2024Open filing →
Similar in size, same sector
| Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|
| Clearwater PaperCLW | $1.6B | −$18.6M |
| AdvansixASIX | $1.5B | $49.3M |
| Matthews InternationalMATW | $1.5B | −$24.5M |
| Algoma SteelASTL | $1.5B | −$705M |
| Rayonier Advanced MaterialsRYAM | $1.5B | −$421M |
| Hecla MiningHL | $1.4B | $322M |
| Apogee EnterprisesAPOG | $1.4B | $54.1M |
Cite this page
Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.
Wikipedia
{{cite web |title=Algoma Steel — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/algoma-steel |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}APA 7
CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). Algoma Steel — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/algoma-steelBibTeX
@misc{companiesranked-en-company-algoma-steel-2026,
author = {{CompaniesRanked}},
title = {{Algoma Steel — Key figures}},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/algoma-steel}},
note = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
urldate = {2026-09-25}
}The filing itself
The numbers above are read from this document: 40-F · 0001193125-26-102628 · March 12, 2026
{{cite web |title=Algoma Steel — Key figures — 40-F (0001193125-26-102628) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1860805/000119312526102628/d92446d40f.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-03-12}}The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.