General Motors (GM) reported $185B in revenue for fiscal 2025, −1.3% year on year. That ranks #24 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #6 in Consumer discretionary. Net income was $2.8B, a net margin of 1.5%. Revenue has grown 1.5% a year on average since 2011 ($150B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $281B in total assets and $20.9B in cash.
Key figures
| Key figures | FY2025 | YoY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueRevenues | $185B | −1.3% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Gross profit | Not reported | — | |
| Operating incomeOperatingIncomeLoss | $2.9B | −77.2% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Net incomeNetIncomeLoss | $2.8B | −53.4% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Operating cash flowNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | $26.9B | +33.5% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Capital expenditurePaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment | $9.3B | −14.1% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Total assetsAssets | $281B | +0.5% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Shareholders' equityStockholdersEquity | $61.1B | −3.1% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| CashCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | $20.9B | +5.4% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Long-term debt | Not reported | — |
Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.
Reported since the last full year
Three-month figures this company has filed since FY2025. A quarter is not comparable with a full year, and these figures are used nowhere else on the site: not in any ranking, not in comparisons, not in the download.
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q1 20262026-03-31 | $43.6B | $2.6B | Open → |
| Q2 20262026-06-30 | $48.0B | $1.3B | Open → |
Only periods that end on a calendar quarter appear here. A company whose fiscal year ends in June files on a different calendar, so it has no row.
Where this sits in its sector
Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.
| Where this sits in its sector | FY2025 | Position in sector |
|---|---|---|
| Net marginRank 169 of 245 companies compared | 1.5% | |
| Operating marginRank 194 of 242 companies compared | 1.6% | |
| R&D as share of revenueRank 22 of 65 companies compared | 3.9% | |
| Cash as share of revenueRank 83 of 243 companies compared | 11.3% |
All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.
Profile
- Legal name
- General Motors Co
- Ticker
- GM
- Exchange
- NYSE
- SIC classification
- Motor Vehicles & Passenger Car Bodies (3711)
- Fiscal year end
- 12-31
- CIK
- 0001467858
Filings
- 10-QJul 21, 2026Open filing →
- 10-QApr 28, 2026Open filing →
- 10-KJan 27, 2026Open filing →
Similar in size, same sector
| Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|
| Costco WholesaleCOST | $275B | $8.1B |
| Ford MotorF | $187B | −$8.2B |
| JD.comJD | $187B | $3.3B |
| General MotorsGM | $185B | $2.8B |
| StellantisSTLA | $173B | −$25.2B |
| Home DepotHD | $165B | $14.2B |
| TargetTGT | $105B | $3.7B |
General Motors compared withJD.comStellantis
Cite this page
Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.
Wikipedia
{{cite web |title=General Motors — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/general-motors |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}APA 7
CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). General Motors — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/general-motorsBibTeX
@misc{companiesranked-en-company-general-motors-2026,
author = {{CompaniesRanked}},
title = {{General Motors — Key figures}},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/general-motors}},
note = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
urldate = {2026-09-25}
}The filing itself
The numbers above are read from this document: 10-K · 0001467858-26-000013 · January 27, 2026
{{cite web |title=General Motors — Key figures — 10-K (0001467858-26-000013) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1467858/000146785826000013/gm-20251231.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-01-27}}The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.