Mid America Apartment Communities (MAA) reported $2.2B in revenue for fiscal 2025, +0.8% year on year. That ranks #1286 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #43 in Real estate. Net income was $447M, a net margin of 20.2%. Revenue has grown 13.3% a year on average since 2011 ($386M then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $12.0B in total assets and $60.3M in cash.

Key figures

$386M2011$447M2012$1.5B2017$1.6B2018$1.6B2019$1.7B2020$1.8B2021$2.0B2022$2.1B2023$2.2B2024$2.2B2025
Mid America Apartment Communities — Key figures
Key figuresFY2025YoYSource
RevenueRevenues$2.2B+0.8%FY20252025-12-31
Gross profitNot reported—
Operating incomeOperatingIncomeLoss$116M+37.3%FY20122012-12-31
Net incomeNetIncomeLoss$447M−15.3%FY20252025-12-31
Operating cash flowNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities$1.1B−1.8%FY20252025-12-31
Capital expenditurePaymentsForCapitalImprovements$360M+11.7%FY20252025-12-31
Total assetsAssets$12.0B+1.4%FY20252025-12-31
Shareholders' equityStockholdersEquity$5.7B−4.7%FY20252025-12-31
CashCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue$60.3M+40.1%FY20252025-12-31
Long-term debtNot reported—

Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.

Reported since the last full year

Three-month figures this company has filed since FY2025. A quarter is not comparable with a full year, and these figures are used nowhere else on the site: not in any ranking, not in comparisons, not in the download.

Mid America Apartment Communities — Reported since the last full year
QuarterRevenueNet incomeSource
Q1 20262026-03-31$554M$124MOpen →

Only periods that end on a calendar quarter appear here. A company whose fiscal year ends in June files on a different calendar, so it has no row.

Where this sits in its sector

Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.

Mid America Apartment Communities — Where this sits in its sector
Where this sits in its sectorFY2025Position in sector
Net marginRank 26 of 74 companies compared20.2%
Operating marginRank 49 of 67 companies compared5.2%
Cash as share of revenueRank 63 of 74 companies compared2.7%

All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.

Profile

Legal name
Mid America Apartment Communities Inc.
Ticker
MAA
Exchange
NYSE
SIC classification
Real Estate Investment Trusts (6798)
Fiscal year end
12-31
CIK
0000912595

Filings

Similar in size, same sector

CompanyRevenueNet income
Lamar AdvertisingLAMR$2.3B$587M
American Healthcare ReitAHR$2.3B$70.8M
CorecivicCXW$2.2B$117M
Mid America Apartment CommunitiesMAA$2.2B$447M
Kimco RealtyKIM$2.1B$554M
Essex Property TrustESS$1.9B$703M
Starwood Property TrustSTWD$1.8B$412M

See the full ranking →

Cite this page

Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.

Wikipedia

{{cite web |title=Mid America Apartment Communities — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/mid-america-apartment-communities |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}

APA 7

CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). Mid America Apartment Communities — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/mid-america-apartment-communities

BibTeX

@misc{companiesranked-en-company-mid-america-apartment-communities-2026,
  author       = {{CompaniesRanked}},
  title        = {{Mid America Apartment Communities — Key figures}},
  year         = {2026},
  howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/mid-america-apartment-communities}},
  note         = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
  urldate      = {2026-09-25}
}

The filing itself

The numbers above are read from this document: 10-K · 0001193125-26-041208 · February 6, 2026

{{cite web |title=Mid America Apartment Communities — Key figures — 10-K (0001193125-26-041208) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/912595/000119312526041208/maa-20251231.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-02-06}}

The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.