Vertex Pharmaceuticals (VRTX) reported $12.0B in revenue for fiscal 2025, +8.9% year on year. That ranks #451 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #47 in Healthcare. Net income was $4.0B, a net margin of 32.9%. Revenue has grown 16.5% a year on average since 2011 ($1.4B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $25.6B in total assets and $5.1B in cash.

Key figures

$1.4B2011$1.5B2012$1.2B2013$580M2014$1.0B2015$1.7B2016$2.5B2017$3.0B2018$4.2B2019$6.2B2020$7.6B2021$8.9B2022$9.9B2023$11.0B2024$12.0B2025
Vertex Pharmaceuticals — Key figures
Key figuresFY2025YoYSource
RevenueRevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax$12.0B+8.9%FY20252025-12-31
Gross profitNot reported—
Operating incomeOperatingIncomeLoss$4.2B+$4.4BFY20252025-12-31
Net incomeNetIncomeLoss$4.0B+$4.5BFY20252025-12-31
Operating cash flowNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities$3.6B+$4.1BFY20252025-12-31
Capital expenditurePaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment$438M+47.0%FY20252025-12-31
Total assetsAssets$25.6B+13.8%FY20252025-12-31
Shareholders' equityStockholdersEquity$18.7B+13.7%FY20252025-12-31
CashCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue$5.1B+11.3%FY20252025-12-31
Long-term debtNot reported—

Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.

Reported since the last full year

Three-month figures this company has filed since FY2025. A quarter is not comparable with a full year, and these figures are used nowhere else on the site: not in any ranking, not in comparisons, not in the download.

Vertex Pharmaceuticals — Reported since the last full year
QuarterRevenueNet incomeSource
Q1 20262026-03-31$3.0B$1.0BOpen →
Q2 20262026-06-30$3.3B$1.1BOpen →

Only periods that end on a calendar quarter appear here. A company whose fiscal year ends in June files on a different calendar, so it has no row.

Where this sits in its sector

Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.

Vertex Pharmaceuticals — Where this sits in its sector
Where this sits in its sectorFY2025Position in sector
Net marginRank 7 of 161 companies compared32.9%
Operating marginRank 9 of 160 companies compared34.8%
R&D as share of revenueRank 13 of 102 companies compared32.6%
Cash as share of revenueRank 14 of 160 companies compared42.4%

All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.

Profile

Legal name
Vertex Pharmaceuticals Inc
Ticker
VRTX
Exchange
Nasdaq
SIC classification
Pharmaceutical Preparations (2834)
Fiscal year end
12-31
CIK
0000875320

Filings

Similar in size, same sector

CompanyRevenueNet income
Unum GroupUNM$13.1B$739M
Brightspring Health ServicesBTSG$12.9B$189M
Community Health SystemsCYH$12.5B$509M
Vertex PharmaceuticalsVRTX$12.0B$4.0B
Oscar HealthOSCR$11.7B−$443M
Baxter InternationalBAX$11.2B−$957M
Quest DiagnosticsDGX$11.0B$992M

See the full ranking →

Cite this page

Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.

Wikipedia

{{cite web |title=Vertex Pharmaceuticals — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/vertex-pharmaceuticals |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}

APA 7

CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). Vertex Pharmaceuticals — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/vertex-pharmaceuticals

BibTeX

@misc{companiesranked-en-company-vertex-pharmaceuticals-2026,
  author       = {{CompaniesRanked}},
  title        = {{Vertex Pharmaceuticals — Key figures}},
  year         = {2026},
  howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/vertex-pharmaceuticals}},
  note         = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
  urldate      = {2026-09-25}
}

The filing itself

The numbers above are read from this document: 10-K · 0000875320-26-000056 · February 13, 2026

{{cite web |title=Vertex Pharmaceuticals — Key figures — 10-K (0000875320-26-000056) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/875320/000087532026000056/vrtx-20251231.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-02-13}}

The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.