Cato (CATO) reported $654M in revenue for fiscal 2025, +0.6% year on year. That ranks #2048 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #271 in Consumer discretionary. It posted a net loss of −$5.9M for the same year. Revenue has declined 2.5% a year on average since 2011 ($931M then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $421M in total assets and $16.8M in cash.
Key figures
| Key figures | FY2025 | YoY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueRevenues | $654M | +0.6% | FY20252026-01-31 |
| Gross profit | Not reported | — | |
| Operating incomeOperatingIncomeLoss | −$12.7M | +$13.7M | FY20252026-01-31 |
| Net incomeNetIncomeLoss | −$5.9M | +$12.1M | FY20252026-01-31 |
| Operating cash flowNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | −$1.5M | +$18.3M | FY20252026-01-31 |
| Capital expenditurePaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment | $3.8M | −52.2% | FY20252026-01-31 |
| Total assetsAssets | $421M | −6.8% | FY20252026-01-31 |
| Shareholders' equityStockholdersEquity | $157M | −3.1% | FY20252026-01-31 |
| CashCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | $16.8M | −17.2% | FY20252026-01-31 |
| Long-term debt | Not reported | — |
Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.
Reported since the last full year
Three-month figures this company has filed since FY2025. A quarter is not comparable with a full year, and these figures are used nowhere else on the site: not in any ranking, not in comparisons, not in the download.
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q1 20262026-05-02 | $171M | $9.3M | Open → |
| Q2 20262026-08-01 | $166M | $1.1M | Open → |
Only periods that end on a calendar quarter appear here. A company whose fiscal year ends in June files on a different calendar, so it has no row.
Profile
- Legal name
- Cato Corp
- Ticker
- CATO
- Exchange
- NYSE
- SIC classification
- Retail-Women's Clothing Stores (5621)
- Fiscal year end
- 01-30
- CIK
- 0000018255
Filings
- 10-QAug 27, 2026Open filing →
- 10-QMay 28, 2026Open filing →
- 10-KMar 25, 2026Open filing →
Similar in size, same sector
| Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|
| SweetgreenSG | $679M | −$134M |
| Movado GroupMOV | $671M | $26.6M |
| AfyaAFYA | $662M | $135M |
| CatoCATO | $654M | −$5.9M |
| GoproGPRO | $652M | −$93.5M |
| Commercial VehicleCVGI | $649M | −$20.5M |
| American Public EducationAPEI | $649M | $31.6M |
Cite this page
Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.
Wikipedia
{{cite web |title=Cato — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/cato |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}APA 7
CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). Cato — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/catoBibTeX
@misc{companiesranked-en-company-cato-2026,
author = {{CompaniesRanked}},
title = {{Cato — Key figures}},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/cato}},
note = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
urldate = {2026-09-25}
}The filing itself
The numbers above are read from this document: 10-K · 0001562762-26-000041 · March 25, 2026
{{cite web |title=Cato — Key figures — 10-K (0001562762-26-000041) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/18255/000156276226000041/cato-20260131.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-03-25}}The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.