Cenovus Energy (CVE) reported $35.6B in revenue for fiscal 2025, −10.3% year on year. That ranks #154 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #15 in Energy. Net income was $2.8B, a net margin of 7.9%. Revenue has grown 14.7% a year on average since 2015 ($9.0B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $46.3B in total assets, $2.0B in cash and $8.1B in long-term debt.
Key figures
| Key figures | FY2025 | YoY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueC$49.7B | $35.6B | −10.3% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Gross profit | Not reported | — | |
| Operating income | Not reported | — | |
| Net incomeC$3.9B | $2.8B | +22.6% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Operating cash flowC$8.2B | $5.9B | −12.7% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Capital expenditureC$811M | $605M | −27.6% | FY20202020-12-31 |
| Total assetsC$63.4B | $46.3B | +17.9% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Shareholders' equityC$31.6B | $23.1B | +11.7% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| CashC$2.7B | $2.0B | −6.9% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Long-term debtC$11.0B | $8.1B | +57.9% | FY20252025-12-31 |
Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.
Figures are reported under IFRS in CAD and converted to US dollars at ECB reference rates — fiscal 2025 average 1.397 CAD/$ for income items, year-end 1.369 CAD/$ for balance-sheet items.
Where this sits in its sector
Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.
| Where this sits in its sector | FY2025 | Position in sector |
|---|---|---|
| Net marginRank 40 of 96 companies compared | 7.9% | |
| R&D as share of revenueRank 20 of 21 companies compared | 0.0% | |
| Cash as share of revenueRank 51 of 95 companies compared | 5.6% |
All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.
Profile
- Legal name
- Cenovus Energy Inc.
- Ticker
- CVE
- Exchange
- NYSE
- SIC classification
- Crude Petroleum & Natural Gas (1311)
- Fiscal year end
- 12-31
- CIK
- 0001475260
Filings
- 40-FFeb 19, 2026Open filing →
- 40-FFeb 20, 2025Open filing →
- 40-FFeb 15, 2024Open filing →
Similar in size, same sector
| Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|
| Plains GPPAGP | $44.3B | $1.8B |
| Suncor EnergySU | $37.5B | $4.2B |
| SLBSLB | $35.7B | $3.4B |
| Cenovus EnergyCVE | $35.6B | $2.8B |
| Imperial OilIMO | $33.7B | $2.3B |
| PBF EnergyPBF | $29.3B | −$159M |
| Canadian Natural ResourcesCNQ | $27.7B | $7.7B |
Cenovus Energy compared withImperial OilSLB
Cite this page
Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.
Wikipedia
{{cite web |title=Cenovus Energy — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/cenovus-energy |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}APA 7
CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). Cenovus Energy — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/cenovus-energyBibTeX
@misc{companiesranked-en-company-cenovus-energy-2026,
author = {{CompaniesRanked}},
title = {{Cenovus Energy — Key figures}},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/cenovus-energy}},
note = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
urldate = {2026-09-25}
}The filing itself
The numbers above are read from this document: 40-F · 0001475260-26-000008 · February 19, 2026
{{cite web |title=Cenovus Energy — Key figures — 40-F (0001475260-26-000008) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1475260/000147526026000008/cve-20251231_d2.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-02-19}}The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.