MetLife (MET) reported $77.1B in revenue for fiscal 2025, +8.6% year on year. That ranks #63 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #9 in Financials. Net income was $3.2B, a net margin of 4.1%. Revenue has grown 0.7% a year on average since 2011 ($70.2B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $745B in total assets, $22.0B in cash and $23.7B in long-term debt.
Key figures
| Key figures | FY2025 | YoY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueRevenues | $77.1B | +8.6% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Gross profit | Not reported | — | |
| Operating incomeOperatingIncomeLoss | $6.1B | +2.4% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Net incomeNetIncomeLoss | $3.2B | −24.9% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Operating cash flowNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | $17.1B | +17.1% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Capital expenditure | Not reported | — | |
| Total assetsAssets | $745B | +10.0% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Shareholders' equityStockholdersEquity | $28.4B | +3.5% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| CashCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | $22.0B | +9.8% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Long-term debtLongTermDebt | $23.7B | — | FY20112011-12-31 |
Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.
Reported since the last full year
Three-month figures this company has filed since FY2025. A quarter is not comparable with a full year, and these figures are used nowhere else on the site: not in any ranking, not in comparisons, not in the download.
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q1 20262026-03-31 | $19.1B | $1.2B | Open → |
| Q2 20262026-06-30 | $19.2B | $736M | Open → |
Only periods that end on a calendar quarter appear here. A company whose fiscal year ends in June files on a different calendar, so it has no row.
Where this sits in its sector
Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.
| Where this sits in its sector | FY2025 | Position in sector |
|---|---|---|
| Net marginRank 161 of 191 companies compared | 4.1% | |
| Operating marginRank 135 of 174 companies compared | 8.0% | |
| Cash as share of revenueRank 89 of 186 companies compared | 28.6% |
All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.
Profile
- Legal name
- MetLife Inc
- Ticker
- MET
- Exchange
- NYSE
- SIC classification
- Life Insurance (6311)
- Fiscal year end
- 12-31
- CIK
- 0001099219
Filings
- 10-QAug 6, 2026Open filing →
- 10-QMay 7, 2026Open filing →
- 10-KFeb 19, 2026Open filing →
Similar in size, same sector
| Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|
| CitigroupC | $85.2B | $14.3B |
| Wells FargoWFC | $83.7B | $21.3B |
| Mitsubishi Ufj FinancialMUFG | $79.3B | $11.6B |
| MetLifeMET | $77.1B | $3.2B |
| Morgan StanleyMS | $70.6B | $16.9B |
| AllstateALL | $67.7B | $10.2B |
| Prudential FinancialPRU | $60.8B | $3.6B |
MetLife compared withMitsubishi Ufj FinancialMorgan Stanley
Cite this page
Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.
Wikipedia
{{cite web |title=MetLife — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/metlife |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}APA 7
CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). MetLife — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/metlifeBibTeX
@misc{companiesranked-en-company-metlife-2026,
author = {{CompaniesRanked}},
title = {{MetLife — Key figures}},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/metlife}},
note = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
urldate = {2026-09-25}
}The filing itself
The numbers above are read from this document: 10-K · 0001099219-26-000013 · February 19, 2026
{{cite web |title=MetLife — Key figures — 10-K (0001099219-26-000013) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1099219/000109921926000013/met-20251231.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-02-19}}The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.